top of page
This website was created by Daniel James LLC.

My Arc with Coffee Drinking

Do you remember when you had your first taste of coffee?


I had my first drink of coffee when I was in 9th grade. I had been up late working on a school project and my mom allowed me to have a cup of coffee before school. I remember the experience: it was Nescafe Instant Coffee with lots of cream and sugar. In my family, tea was an everyday drink, but coffee was for special occasions and for when guests came over. My mom bought the “best” coffee we could afford at the time. I can remember her buying bags of beans and grinding them in the store using the big red Bunn grinder.


I drank more coffee in college, but at the time I was more focused on staying caffeinated and less on taste. Once, I was running late for my 8AM biochemistry class, I made a coffee sandwich (instant coffee between two slices of buttered white bread) in order to get my fix before class. At that time, International Coffee was all the rage and on special occasion I would make a cup of hazelnut flavored coffee.


When I got my first job, I was able to afford to get coffee drinks from the major coffee shop chains. Eventually, my quest for better coffee led me to independent coffee shops focused on making good coffee. Looking back now, I realize I was able to enjoy coffee more once I was able to carve out time enjoy the experience. My favorite time is Saturday and Sunday mornings. I love watching cooking and travel shows while sipping my favorite coffee.


The biggest change occurred when I met my friend, mentor and master roaster Ken Hodges. For the first time I was able to experience the rich flavor of freshly roasted coffee, made from beans hand selected for their unique flavor profile. His coffee is smooth and rich. I knew I had found a way to share my passion for coffee with others. My goal is to provide beans that helps to make the coffee experience more fulfilling.

bottom of page